5S Definition

A 5 level standard for organizing the workplace. The 5 stages (from most disorganized to most organized) are:

  • 1S = “Seiri” = Sort: Separating needed and unnecessary, eliminating unnecessary material
  • 2S = “Seiton” = Store: A place for everything & everything in its place
  • 3S = “Seiso” = Shine: Cleaning: eliminating dirt, make like new
  • 4S = “Seketsu”= Standardize: procedures and responsibilities
  • 5S = “Shitsuke” = Sustain: making compliance automatic, a habit



For more Lean Sigma vocabulary check our glossary.





  1. sushil kumar verma says:

    dear sir,
    i want to know more about 5’s’. can you send more about 5’s’ in my mail id.

  2. details reqd for 5s in Indian Lang.

  3. 5S audit form, other information and templates You may find at: http://smartmanagement.info/